Spring Cleaning

Spring cleaning is a phrase that comes up at that time of year where you look at your living space or even your life and think “I need to clean up.” This past weekend I started trimming the trees at our lake house and this morning I received my friend J.R. Atkins’ blog about leaf blower marketing. The weather is warm here in Texas now; seems we had our bad weather streak and it’s done. So it’s time to think spring.

For us bikers in North Texas, we love the spring ride to the Hill Country to see the Texas wildflowers – especially our state flower, the Blue Bonnet. And these rides are called “Blue Bonnet Rides.” April is wildflower month and that’s when the Blue Bonnet Rides usually take place. It’s usually our first spring weekend ride.

But today, planning the annual Blue Bonnet Ride got me to thinking about spring cleaning. In my life each spring is a time of refreshing. I like to get the old out, and make room for new things in my life. After all, that is the great thing about spring cleaning. Each year I go through all my stuff and ask these questions: “Is this really helping me anymore?” and “Am I making great use of the resources, and things that have been placed in my care?” I find that when cleaning out, it takes the clutter from my life. When you remove old clutter it makes room for something else to move into your life.

Last year one of the books I read from another coach I respect was Coaching Yourself to Success. It’s part of a great book and program by life coach Talane Miedaner of www.lifecoach.com. She was one of the first coaches I started to follow online, and her program was what thrilled me most about my coaching career.  Her program is divided into ten parts. The first two are “Increase your Natural Power” and “Clean Up Your Act.”

I’m not going to give you all the things that make her program great (and it is a great program), but if you want to find out more, check out her website. What I will do is explain how, in these two sections, there are things that I have learned to use every year at this spring cleaning time to help me renew my walk and get more energy in life.

Talane talks in the first section about getting rid of your energy drains. This is a big part of my clean up. What do I have that is no longer useful and that does nothing but rob me of energy? If it’s not needed in my life, then out it goes. I need to have an abundance of energy to keep my life in a forward motion, as well as to make sure I’m there for my clients.

In the next section she talks about how to get the clutter out of your life and keep it out. For me the big clutter I have is paperwork. Both my partner and I hate paperwork. We let it sit in stacks until tax time, then go through it and try to make sense out of it just to do our taxes each year. But think of this: if the paperwork was better, we would have less drain this time of year trying to put it together. So we are working on creating a system to where all is recorded with our monetary transactions and kept on computer. We have to remember life is a growing process. We are a growing company, and even we have to work to improve in our business and personal lives.

So what is draining you of energy this year? What can you clean up in your life to make room for progress? What needs to be cleaned in your life to make a better road to success for you?  If you could get rid of the clutter, and keep it away, how would your life be better? Make a plan for cleaning out and plugging your energy drains, and see how great 2011 can become for you.

If you need more resources to help you with spring cleaning, getting life right and making room for success, I want to recommend you check into the Coach Yourself to Success Program, at  www.lifecoach.com.

You can also find organization tips and lifestyle design tips from many places online.

If I can help you with getting life started again – spring cleaning your life – fill out the email form and get a free coaching session to see what’s blocking your success today.

I’m Tim Gillette, the Rocker Life Coach, reminding you to Live, Love, and Rock On.

 

One thought on “Spring Cleaning

Leave a Reply

