Goals with Purpose

It’s Wednesday, the middle of the week; just like the end of this month marks the middle of the year. So how is your week going? Do you feel you are half way done? Do you feel like you’re going in the wrong direction?  How about your year?

As we reach the middle of the year, it is the time to look at what you have done. Time to review the goals you set for your year and see if you’re headed in the right direction. For years I would set goals, putting them in writing before January 1st. As the years started things did seem to be going my way, but by March I was usually behind. Then came summer with the vacation, the three-day weekends. This gave me time to reflect and I would always ask myself, “Why have I not gotten started?” My goals were good; they seemed to be going the place I wanted to go. But I just could not get the work done to get them started. In 2003, I attended as seminar and workshop. I took what was called a “spiritual gifts test.” It was then that I found out about what true talents I had. And as a result, I learned I was chasing an unrealistic set of goals that could never really motivate me.

So what did I do? I started searching with the results from tests like these to find out what jobs, careers, businesses, services and paths would take me places with the talent I had. It was then that I was able to start making a business plan that would use my gifts and talents to bring success on a new level. I had the desire to be a writer, the drive to become a motivational speaker, but did not know that was a purpose inside of me that matched my gifts and talents. I was just working towards goals and always falling short.

In the early 90s I met a man who was a cyclist. He was shorter than most cyclists, but wanted to be a race cyclist. He raced on a minor circuit, but never made it to places like the Tour de France. As a shorter person he told me he had to work harder to keep up with other bikers. He ended up leaving that sport. While we may have had a desire, a passion to do such things, because he was always working towards goals that had him moving upstream, he was working against himself. And you may be doing that, too.

When we ride motorcycles in North Texas, there are lots of times we ride in winds. It is great when you ride with the wind at your back. But when you have to ride into the wind or with a strong crosswind, it can make for a long day of riding. So with this blog post today, let’s look at ways that we could change how we make goals so we can end up working with the wind at our backs. We want to live a life of achievement going in the same direction as the river, and not swim upstream. Here are some keys to reach for goals that fulfill your purpose.

1.  Look into tests that give you insights to the direction you must take. I mentioned the spiritual gifts test above as one example. But when I was considering the path of becoming a life coach, I took a quiz to see if I had what it takes. The test came back with the results of “You are already a coach, you need to turn it into a career.” So Google these tests, or quizzes that could tell you if the direction you have been taking is a path for you or not.

2.  Start writing your goals down and form a record of what goals you reach and what ones you are always missing. I know there have been people who claim that if you write your goals down are 10 times more likely to reach them. And I believe it’s true, so that is how I track what gets done and what does not. If you find that you have been writing a goal down for years and not reaching it, ask yourself. “Is this goal for me? Am I really serious about this goal?”

3.  Goals should be a process of you setting yourself up for success. Each goal you write, plan or start working towards should be building your life for further success.  By building your life this way, it makes life seem like it will get easier. Truth is life is going to give you more challenges. If you set life up to solve things and never have to repeat them, that is future success, by using your goals to profit others and not just yourself (the pay-it-forward concept), others will be there for you when you need it. You will start to see doors open for you based on the fact that you were a servant first.

As you can see life could be hard, or it could flow like a well moving river. It is how you set your life up. By creating a goal process that builds a future, moving forward, you will see your goals reached with less stress and more joy and happiness. Don’t keep beating you head against the wall to make a new door when there is a door already there.

I’m Tim Gillette, the Rocker Life Coach. It’s time for you to live the life you always dreamed of, love what you do and be a RockStar in your world. I can help you achieve your dreams. We have a number of different coaching programs and teaching materials to fit any budget. Email me at tim@rockerlifecoach.com or call 214.616.8912.

Leave a Reply

