Time Week: What’s Your Time Worth?

Good Monday morning to you from the sunny valley of Phoenix, AZ. As I am wrapping up my work here today, I wanted to start a week on the theme of “Time.” While I have been working here this week, I have met many people. Some of them are online contacts I have made, some of them new faces, some are friends of friends and so on. I was reminded of this one thing in a lot of my meetings: time. At first I was going to do a week about movies but at the last minute, while doing some research on a movie called “Back to the Future,” I changed this week’s theme. Sorry we won’t be talking about that movie today, but I’m sure it will come up at another time.

The ideas I want to explore are the time we have on this earth, how we spend it, and what we would do if we could go back in time and change something. These ideas and many more have me thinking about the time we have. Today I saw a simple design on a tow truck and it made me think about the time I have spent. Twenty-five years ago I worked driving tow trucks. Looking at the design of the truck this man was using here in Phoenix made me think back to those hard days, rainy nights, and snow-covered roads pulling vehicles out. Then I looked at the design of this truck. It is meant to do one thing: pick up broken-down cars. The driver told me how he could have a car that just needs to head to the shop for battery or other minor problem and he could hook up in a matter of two minutes.

When I think back in time to when I used to hook up cars, it was sometimes ten minutes to pick up a car and get it strapped down. It’s great to see how ideas have been transformed over the years to help people make the hard jobs much easier saving people time, keeping us from doing those jobs that took us so long. Now look at your life. How much of your valuable time do you waste doing things that are not necessary? How much time could you save if you invented something to make the job less time-consuming?

Many of the people I meet along life’s path seem to complain about the process. I used to work with a young supervisor who would tell us, “Stop telling me the problem and tell me your idea of how to solve it.” He would then use those solutions to make the processes we had to go through shorter, to save us time and headaches. Terry was all about how to fix it and telling the whole team the better way. In life, we should be looking for a way to fix our problems and stop using up our valuable time doing those things that are doing nothing but wasting our time.

I encourage you, as we go through this week, to look in your own life, maybe start with a journal and write down a problem, then leave space for another time when you think about it. When an answer comes to make the process shorter, better, more efficient, or that produces something of better quality then go back and fill in the answer after the problem. If you are in a place in your world to put those ideas to work in your job or company, then do it. If not, put in the suggestions to those who are. If neither of these ideas works out keep writing; call me and maybe we can turn it into a self-help book. I’ll coach you through the process and make you a RockStar in your world. With that I’m hitting the road tomorrow morning headed back to Dallas. If you are along my path home and want to have coffee with me, contact me today and I’ll stop by and give you a free in-person coaching session to help you through what you need.

I’m Tim Gillette, the Rocker Life Coach. It’s time for you to live the life you always dreamed of, to love what you do and those you share your life with. Let’s talk about you becoming the RockStar in your world. Call me at 214.616.8912 or email me at tim@rockerlifecoach.com.

One thought on “Time Week: What’s Your Time Worth?

Leave a Reply

