Back to the Future

 

It’s Friday and time to end our week on the theme of time. This week’s theme started because I was reading some information about the movie Back to the Future. The funny thing was that after days of travel, two weeks away from home, and thinking about this very subject, I get home yesterday and turn on the TV in my office just to get some noise. Usually I turn on VH1 Classics to have the music playing. Well they didn’t have videos playing this time. Instead, it was a movie marathon of Back to the Future, 1, 2, and 3.

So to finish the week out, let’s talk about the concept of the movie Back to the Future. In the movie Marty goes back in time and through connecting with his parents at their first meeting, he alters the future of his family. When he comes back home he finds things totally changed in his life. This concept of time and how different things are done today can very much alter your future is what I want to talk about.

I first saw the movie Back to the Future as a young teen. As I get older the concept of the movie became more and more clear because as time has changed, I see the results of those choices I made as a young man. If we look back on the timeline of our lives we see these things. But look forward to the future and what do you see?

There is an adage that says if you keep doing what you have always done, then you will keep getting what you’ve always gotten. Look at your past. Have you learned from those choices that you have made? I wrote yesterday about how when you do things right, time will tell if you were the honest person. Well, over time I had to learn to make the changes in my life to make it better. There are people in my past who will tell you that I was a loser. They will tell you that I most likely did nothing with my life. They came to that opinion of me based on what they viewed in my life at a given time. People may have done that to you. Here is the key: you are not bound by how others see you. You make the choices that will change your tomorrow. Look at your past, see what went wrong and fix it. But also look at your past and if something has given you great success, repeat the process.

Now, looking at the movie again, in the second Back to the Future movie, older Biff walks up to Marty in a café and talks to him thinking he is talking to his son and says “How does it feel to have a father who took his life and totally flushed it down the toilet?” Imagine going 20 years into the future and having someone tell you that about your own life? Makes you wonder if what you’re doing now is really important and working for you.

Think about your life today; look at your past and determine if you made bad choices and are working to correct them. Look to your future. What do you see if you work on this same pace you are working on now? In the end of the series of movies, a question is asked by Jennifer, Marty’s girlfriend. She looks at a paper and says to the Doc, “The paper I brought back from the future is erased. What does that mean?” The Doc says, “It means your future is whatever you make of it, so make it a good one.” That is my word for you today. Time can be your friend or your enemy. You choose what you are going to do with it.

I’ll leave you with a question about the movie that took me years to figure out. What was the one thing in the movie that Marty had to get over that was holding his future back?

I’m Tim Gillette, the Rocker Life Coach. It’s time for you to live the life you always wanted, to love what you do and those you share life with. Now is the time to take the steps needed to be a RockStar in your world!

4 thoughts on “Back to the Future

  1. Thanks for the inspiration, Tim. I have always found myself to be the one thing that holds me back from accomplishing my passions. Disbelief in my ability to actually pursue my dreams. Doubt in the strength, determination and knowledge I possess to accomplish my goals. Discouragement that often defeats me before I even begin just anticipating some of the obstacles I know I will face. All it takes is a thought to prevent us from living life to its fullest.

  2. Good blog! I truly love how it is nice on my eyes it is. I’m wondering how I might be notified when a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your RSS which may do the trick? Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

