Face Your Fear

It’s Friday. I know some are all excited the weekend is almost here. As we wrap up this week I want to hit on the hardest thing for many of us to admit. I know today will be hard for me to write. But it is very much needed to help growth in people. I know the prep work for me to write this involved some tough thoughts this week. I know it will have a few tugs for me to admit some of these things. But it’s time for me to show you that, yes, I struggle with fears myself. Yes, I still have to work through them. Yes, I have to push to get out of my own comfort zones. And, yes, I hate changes.
So the big question to end our week: what is your biggest fear? What are you afraid of or facing right now that you just can’t seem to get past? What change in your life has you up against a wall right now? We all have them, yes, even me.
This week has been a tough one on me. I did not plan it that way, it just happened. It was the first week in a while that I wished I could call my dad and talk to him. Well he is not here to make a call to anymore. It was one of those times I hated change. We cannot bring our loved ones back, and I know the first year of new things I would normally have called dad about have been some of the tough ones. The good part of this is it was good things I wanted to tell dad, about what is going on in life. Then, my cousin posts a picture of her and my dad and I felt confirmation, thanks to my faith, that I was doing what is right.
The big community fear this week was the changes in FaceBook. I’m not worried about where things are going online. When I look back over the past 20 years as I watched the change in the internet, it has been improvements – one after another. Well the fear I have of learning something new I took on by going to work with some of my web friends and going through the development changes to find out how the change will work and what I can do with it. So tonight I was able to get the developer in me to get my new FaceBook timeline out – part of the changes everyone was so unhappy about. Another fear faced, and I feel so much better learning it.
The greatest fear that I have in life would have to be snakes. It is one of those things I hate to see. Well as I opened the garage door one day this week right outside the door is a small snake. It was all of 6 inches long, maybe a ¼ of an inch thick. After finding a way to pick it up and throw it away from the house it was off. I then headed back inside to look at the pictures of snakes. I looked it up on Google and found out it was nothing but a garden snake and it was harmless. Face your fear and you may find it was not all that big of a deal.
I know many people in my life think I’m a cool guy. Many think I am one of those people who could have been the rock star in my world. Well here is my big fear: to tell you I was not always one of those cool guys. If you knew me in school, I was not a nerd, but I was one of those kids that the bullies would pick on. Yes, I have changed. I had to face some hard times to get here.
I wish I could tell you that from the time I was in school and picked on, to the time now, where everyone thinks I’m this cool dude, was easy. It was a long, uphill battle. I faced many times of fear. Over the past two weeks I have stepped out and spoken to groups and crowds as a speaker four times. I have no problem doing it today. I faced the fear of standing in front of the room presenting what I need to present many years ago. I faced that before it was a fear. But every time I get up to speak, I always look at my notes and yes there is that feeling in my stomach that I’m going to mess this up. And every time, I take action and say my first sentence, or question. Once that action is made, I just keep moving forward; it all becomes a zone for me.
I wanted to list each of these areas to let you know that, even as someone who seems confident in my own shoes, I have fears, I have had fears, I have to make changes just like you. For those who face their fears each day, some must make one small step to get them going. For others, it will be like turning a large truck engine over by hand; it takes a few cranks to get that large power house started. No matter how small your fear is, if it’s that snake you see on your driveway, or you have to make a presentation to a board room, the only sure thing you have to do is take the first step in faith and face your fears. Do not let fear run your life. As we stated yesterday the fear mindset is something that needs to be done away with. So have a good weekend and hope you move from fear to faith. The first step is to face it and take action.
I’m Tim Gillette, the Rocker Life Coach. It’s time for you to live the life you always wanted, to love what you do and those you share your life with. Call us for help to face your fears and become the RockStar in your world.

2 thoughts on “Face Your Fear

  1. Fear never vanishes completely. But we can reinterpret it (“adrenalburger”), gain greater clarity on it (fear is natural, shame about fear is not), change the impact of the self-judgement (NLP), or learn to separate ourselves from it (various meditation techniques).

    Or…you can just put your fear behind you, your love in front of you, and run like hell!

  2. Hi Tim, I just found your blog and I love your perspective. As far as my thoughts on fear, it’s just another belief that we can change that stands in our way to a life that we love. Push the fear block out of our way and we’re on our way to success! Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

