Awesome Dude

Good Wednesday morning. Today I wanted to cover the term “Awesome.” But as usual I have to add the word “dude” with it. After all, as a guy, I want to hear the words “Awesome, Dude” when I have done something that is just over the top.

So in this year, how many times have you heard the word “awesome”? I think of someone telling me that right after something that was over the top, something that almost took their breath away but not quite. So they look at me and say, “Awesome.” When people see me in a tie-dyed shirt, they sometimes say, “Awesome.” Or a man with a young son might hear the word “awesome” when he did something that his son was just so amazed at.

In our world everyday people are making great creations to make the world a better place. But we have to remember that our greatest creation is passing on to our children an awesome example of the fact that we love life and everything we have to do.

It the ‘80s, I remember a TV sitcom called, The Wonder Years. A young Kevin in the show was trying to figure out what his dad did for a living. He goes into work with his dad, and soon sees the frustration his dad faces when walking in the door in the morning. His dad then throws everyone out of his office, grabs a cup of coffee, and tells his young son this is the important part of the day – the first coffee break. To that I say, “Awesome.” While the show told of other things in that episode, to me it showed the place where you teach your son that when things get too rough you close the office door and get a coffee break in.

In life you can have many things that could frustrate your day. This world could get so busy that you could forget some of the important things but it’s the moments of awesome that you need to fit in. Set your life up for those times to get an awesome dude from your kids, or from someone who looks up to you today.

As we head into the last month of the year it will now be almost one year ago I got the last “Awesome” from my dad, the Dude. I can still hear the tone in his voice as I think about how he used to tell me awesome when I told him good news. Think of the times between you and those who look up to you. Plan for more of them in the future. If 2011 was not awesome to you, it’s time to change your plans so next year can be awesome, dude.

I’m Tim Gillette, the Rocker life coach. It’s time to live your dream, to love what you do and those you share life with. Create more “awesome, dude” moments in your life to be a RockStar where you are.

Leave a Reply

