Changing Habits

Good Thursday morning. How is your work week going?  When thinking of the idea of making a fresh start in life, the one thing that is almost always the downfall is the habits we have formed. Habits are the one thing that keeps us from achieving those things we want to do.

I was thinking of the people who will start the New Year with great resolutions: to quit smoking, to get in shape and workout more, to lose weight, etc. I was reading through the news articles of the morning telling how this time of year at the gym so many people seem to come in and try to make good habits so they can make a change.

We have so many bad habits that have kept us going and we have to break them and replace them with new habits to get to those things to make our success happen. I was thinking in my own life what habits I need to change to take my own life success happen.

The key we need to use to help get rid of the bad habits is replacing them with something else. That is why we develop new habits to replace them. When you give up a habit it leaves a vacuum in your life, it will pull for something to replace it.

So what is a good way to get yourself on track and keep on track in 2012? What is a way to change your habits and make a fresh start?

1.  Make two lists. The first list will have the bad habits you want to get rid of. The second is a list of new habits you want to develop to change and create the new success you are looking for.

2.  Take it slow. Just like starting a new workout routine, you don’t do everything in the same day, you break it up. Work on some things the first day, some on the next day, and so on with breaks in between.

3.  Learn a system of breaking bad habits to gain control in many areas in life. They say it takes 21 days to create a new habit. Well, use the same thinking to get rid of the old habits. But understand that you can quit anything you want. I have sometimes given things up completely just to prove that I am in control of my life. I spent years not drinking alcohol at all, in any form. I have spent weeks where I would not even drink caffeine. I did this because I never wanted to feel those things controled me.

Build your life on good habits. When you are making a fresh start in life as we have been talking about this week, you need to create habits that make that fresh start work. And get rid of those bad habits that have controlled or limited you in the past.

I’m Tim Gillette, the Rocker Life Coach. It’s time to live your dream, to love what you do and those you share life with. Out with bad habits, in with the new to make a fresh start and become the RockStar in your world in 2012.

Leave a Reply

